Gaulish Druidism, Gaulish Polytheism

We now have a website Drunemeton

All my stuff relates to Druids and Gaul. More specifically, to the Senodruides (Ancient Druides). I have a deep fire within that drives me to reconstruct, reconnect, and revisioning a modern-day Order for the Bardoi, Uâtîs, and Drûides. There is a lot to be done here still. 

Each one of these is a separate custom/tradition (Bessus). They are not a ladder to climb to reach the top; instead, a lifestyle of devotional living in honor of said path. Each offers a different focus and understanding. One thing they are not is a title to take for the sake of having a title.

Bardobessus: Bardic Customs
Bardos (Praise Poet)
These are the Poets and singers.

Uatibessus: Ovate Customs
Uâtis (The Mantic One)
The Seers and Healers

Druidobessus: Druid Customs
Drûið (One who knows Drus)
Mediators and Arbiters of the Deuoi

Now, of course, there are many more things that go into the above, and as time goes on, more will come. This all will take much work to flesh out. I just felt the need to give a quick overview, as you might not understand the terms above and what they are referring to within some of my articles. It all relates to Drunemeton.

Drunemeton (Oak Sanctuary)
Gaulish: *dru-nemeton (from drus, ‘oak’, and nemeton, ‘sacred ground, sanctuary) Drunemerton shall be the name of the assembly of Bardoi, Uâtîs, and Drûides. 

Drunemeton was a Gaulish province of Asia Minor, as stated by Strabo. 

The Galatians, then, are to the south of the Paphlagonians. And of these there are three tribes; two of them, the Trocmi and the Tolistobogii, are named after their leaders, whereas the third, the Tectosages, is named after the tribe in Celtica.1 This country was occupied by the Galatae after they had wandered about for a long time, and after they had overrun the country that was subject to the Attalic and Bithynian kings, until by voluntary p469 cession they received the present Galatia, or Gallo-Graecia, as it is called. Leonnorius is generally reputed to have been the chief leader of their expedition across to Asia. 567The three tribes spoke the same language and differed from each other in no respect; and each was divided into four portions which were called tetrarchies, each tetrarchy having its own tetrarch, and also one judge and one military commander, both subject to the tetrarch, and two subordinate commanders. The Council of the twelve tetrarchs consisted of three hundred men, who assembled at Drynemetum, as it was called. Now the Council passed judgment upon murder cases, but the tetrarchs and the judges upon all others. Such, then, was the organisation of Galatia long ago, but in my time the power has passed to three rulers, then to two, and then to one, Deïotarus, and then to Amyntas, who succeeded him. But at the present time the Romans possess both this country and the whole of the country that became subject to Amyntas, having united them into one province.

Strabo, Geographica, XII,5,1

I also believe the sacred site the Senodruides would meet at in Carnuticâ (Carnute region or land) mentioned by Cæsar was also a Drunemeton.

The Oak was revered among the Senosdruides as it was climbed to cut boughs of mistletoe on the sixth day of the moon, as described by Pliny the Elder. Our Great world tree Drus is an oak whose roots lay within Dubnos, the trunk in Bitus, and its canopy stretching into Albios. You can read more about the Oak in some of my other articles. With that said, this is why I chose the name Drunemeton.

We assemble within these oaks to transcend to a higher plane. To gain the knowledge and insight to bring forth these customs. Back to the first knowledge that is strong and true. With our devotion to the Dēuoi (Worshiped Beings), might they grant us the acorns of wisdom.

As we stand under the towering Oaks.
Ancient knowledge encloses us.
Celestial bodies move around.
As we transcend to the other realm
It is not where you think it is until you watch
the acorn fall from above.

We take an oath to live by the Trirextoues/The Three Laws
Dugie Dêuûs – “Honor the Gods”
Gneie ne drucon – “Do no evil”
Delge āxtam – “Hold your behavior”

You can learn more about each of the Bessus in my article Inscrîbatus. Throughout my site, you will see random stuff relating to this.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s